a perfect project gone wrong

It started all perfect: I found a wonderful pattern, the Top Notch. And I found the perfect yarn in beautiful shades of blue. The pattern seemed to be an easy knit, so I started enthusiastically. Well, shortly after my mistakes began…

There are only approx. 3 times, when you need to pay some attention to the pattern:

  1. increase stitches after the ribbing
  2. divide the stitches into front and back ( equally!! )
  3. count stitches and place marker to get the wrap and turns right…

You won’t believe it, but I got all three wrong:

  1. I forgot to increase, which I found out after knitting 20cm of Stockinette stitch. As I am rather a size S, I decided to give a sh**  and just leave it as it is.
  2. I divided the back and front unequally… I had just about 15 stitches less in the front. Of course I did not discover it right away , but after knitting the 7cm of Stockinette stitch. Then I was so annoyed, I put the project aside for 1,5 years..This time I had to start the section again…
  3. I placed the marker wrong, therefore my wrap & turns were on the wrong position…. which I only found out after the 5th wrap and turn… and here I go again…

I probably underestimated the knit as “mindless”… But still I motivate myself with the Curchill quote: “Never give in, never, never, never, never, never”

So we will see, work in progress!

 

—- German Version—-

Ein schönes Projekt geht total schief…!

Man nehme ein tolles Strickmuster, schönes Garn in ganz tollen Farben und man denkt, ach wie schön, das wird ganz schnell und einfach gehen!

Und tatsächlich sind da im Strickmuster nur 3 Stellen, an denen man ein wenig das Gehirn einschalten sollte:

  1. Maschen zunehmen nach dem Bündchen
  2. Maschen in Vorder- und Rückseite ( in gleichen Teile! ) teilen
  3. Den Marker an der richtigen Stelle setzen, damit die “warp&turns” an der richtigen Stelle sitzen

Kaum zu glauben, aber ich habe es geschafft, wirklich alle 3 Stellen zu vergeigen..

  1. Ich vergaß zuzunehmen… natürlich ist mir das erst nach weiteren 20cm glatt stricken aufgefallen! Da war es mir aber zu dumm, und da ich sowieso eher eine Größe S bin, habe ich den Fehler ignoriert.
  2. Natürlich habe ich Vorder- und Rückseite ungleich aufgeteilt… um nur 15 Maschen….und natürlich habe ich das erst nach weiteren 7cm stricken gemerkt… Aber dieses mal hieß es leider AUFZIEHEN.. und nochmal
  3. Den Marker habe ich um 10 Maschen falsch gesetzt, daher waren meine “wrap&turns” an der falschen Stelle…. was mir wiederum erst nach dem 5ten “wrap & Turn” aufgefallen ist.. auch hier kam ich leider nicht ums aufziehen herum! ..

and here I go again…

Mal sehen, welche Fehler noch auf mich warten… aber eine gute Lektion, selbst  Strickmuster, die einfach scheinen, nicht zu unterschätzen.

Und natürlich Maschen zählen, zählen, zählen….! ;)

